Skip to content

The Wannabe Theologian.

November 12, 2008

I’ve started and quit many a blog in my short blogging career. My reason for that [I think?] is that I’ve ended up losing passion for what I’m writing about. I’ve had a couple sports blogs, but those fizzle after just a few weeks. I’ve had a general one about my life as a whole, but that was too broad and I didn’t think people would care about my daily endeavors. It is my sincere belief that this one will be a bit different. 

My true passion in life is God, and all that comes with Him. I love studying religion more than just about any other thing I spend my time on. My daily routine includes reading the Bible, reading other books about God [theology, secular perspectives, inspirational, etc.], listening to sermons and being in conversation about all of these. I say this not to put myself up on a pedestal, but merely to build some credibility among my readers as somebody who is truly passionate about this subject.

I am just as the name of this blog suggests, a wannabe theologian. I love studying religion, but I don’t claim to be anywhere near an expert. I’m merely someone who loves learning and being challenged in my own faith while being able to share that experience with people. It’s hard to tell people what I’m learning on a one-to-one basis, so I’m trying this out. Posting will be as regular as I can make it, which at this point will be at least a few times per week.

Thank you so much!  

P.S. I’ll also hopefully be giving resources on theology, God, religious inspiration, etc. I tend to do quite a bit of research that leads me to hard-to-find websites, books and other random stuff. I’ll share that with you guys as much as I can. First, I’ll share a link to Mars Hill Church in Seattle. The pastor, Mark Driscoll, is someone who inspires me to learn more and dig deeper into my faith that I ever even thought about doing. I’ll openly say I don’t agree with everything he teaches, but he challenges me and makes me think about why I believe the things I do on a very consistent basis.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

