Skip to content

Who is Jesus to you?

November 28, 2008

It’s so easy to put Jesus in a box and carry him around with us. It’s so easy to just take him out when we need him, and put him back when we don’t. Sure, he was a sweet guy and said some cool stuff, but he’s not my King, right? I don’t actually have to be his servant, do I? 

That’s a question I’ve been asking myself recently. I am going through the Gospel of John, and to put it mildly, I’m blown away by the things that Jesus does and says, and I realize that recently I’ve kind of put Jesus off to the side in my life. So, I’m coming back to the question, who do I say Jesus was? 

“‘Who do people say I am?’ And they said, ‘Some say John the Baptist, others say Elijah, and others Jeremiah or one of the prophets.’ He [Jesus] said to them, ‘But who do you say that I am?’ Peter replied, ‘You are the Christ, the son of the living God.'”    [Matthew 16:13-16, slight paraphrase] 

In our culture everyone has a different idea about Jesus. Some people flat out don’t believe he ever existed, [even though there is historical evidence that he did as human at least]. Some people see him as a political revolutionary [this view was generally held by Jews at the time]. Others see him as a cool guy with some fun teachings. Some view Jesus as a radical hippie who walked around “healing” people. Christians though, they hold another view altogether. Jesus is the very Son of God. The Messiah and Savior of the people of the world. He is the King

Do I really believe this? Do I hold this to be true in my life? Most of the time, no. I’m beginning to understand though that Jesus is more than a friend and a buddy. He is the Lord of my life. He has authority in my life. Absolute authority

Here is what the Bible says about who Jesus is:

  • He has been given all authority in Heaven and Earth [Matt. 28:18] 
  • He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins [1 John 2:2] 
  • The Sovereign King of Kings [1 Tim 6:15] 
  • Jesus is God himself [Romans 9:5] 
  • The head over the entire Church of believers [Eph. 1:22] 
  • He is the Eternal King [1 Tim 1:17] 
  • He is the Mighty God [Isaiah 9:6] 
  • The Power and Wisdom of God [1 Corinth 1:24] 
  • The Ruler of God’s creation [Rev. 3:14] 
  • Savior [Eph. 5:23, Titus 1:4, 2 Peter 2:20] 
  • The Way, the Truth, the Life [John 14:6] 

Jesus is so much more than just a friend. He is the one who has saved us from Hell. He has saved us from a life of sin and condemnation on this earth and in this present life. If we truly understood the weight of what Jesus did for us on the cross, we would jump to him and bow before him in trembling. Hopefully I can begin to learn what this means in my life. 

Who do you say Jesus is? 

Think about it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    November 28, 2008 6:52 pm

    jer i’ve been asking myself a similar question lately. i get too comfortable, too casual with Jesus. neglecting his position as my eternal savior, my LORD, my authority. good stuff…

Leave a Reply

