Skip to content

Marketing Jesus

January 26, 2009

So I’m sitting here in Marketing 101 class and thinking about how ministry fits into all of this.

The 4 P’s of Marketing are:

  1. Product
  2. Price
  3. Place
  4. Promotion

How does Jesus fit into that formula?

Honestly, I dont think it fits very well. It relegates my “product” into a formula instead of a unique relationship. I completely understand that churches need to market themselves in order to draw people, so it’s ABSOLUTELY important to know the rules of marketing. It’s important to know our cultural trends and values. And yes, to an extent ministry can be applied to those 4 P’s. If we lose the incredible uniquesness of Jesus and of the relationships that He brings us, then our marketing is worthless.

I plan on being in ministry when I graduate in a year and half, and I’m actually almost certain that my role will include marketing and promotion and PR and all that jazz. Believe me, I’m incredibly excited. I pray however that I dont lose the foundation of my “career” [i dont like calling ministry a career…lifestyle seems more appropriate]. Jesus is not a formula. Being a follower of Jesus is not a formula. Every situation is different. Every life is different. Every personality is different.

Think about it.

P.S. Paul Stewart just announced a new church plant in downtown Des Moines. I dont even know the guy yet, but I’m excited to see what God has in store there. Check out his blog. Cool stuff.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

