Skip to content

Holy Rest

February 25, 2009

It’s been a week since I last blogged, not quite living up to the standards I set for myself about a week and a half ago about blogging three times a week. Here’s the deal though, that was a mistake. I’m gonna blog what I want, when I want. To put limits on it is just not possible right now with me being a student.

Today is Ash Wednesday, which means it is the beginning of this 40-day period known as Lent. It’s not a biblical tradition, but one that has been carried out by the church for hundreds of years. I think it’s cool. It gives us an excuse to really focus on God for 40 days. And in our busy lives we live, that sadly becomes kind of necessary.

Usually, people who celebrate Lent give something up for 40 days. Some of the more common things are chocolate, deserts in general, pop [soda], video games, etc. I happen to be giving up pop, because I drink wayyy too much of it. Mark Batterson however mentioned in his blog last week that it’s also a good idea to add something to our lives. Something that will benefit our relationship with God. I think it’s an awesome concept, and actually possibly more beneficial than giving something up.

So, I decided that I’m going to journal at the end of every day for just like 15 minutes. I want to institute a habit of reflection and prayer on my days. I dont want to become a drone, where the days just meld together and I have no meditation or reflection whatsoever. I’m quite excited. This also follows a recognition that I need to simply relax more. I had this goal of reading 50 books this year, but that seems to be a little ambitious for me with all my school work and extracurriculars. I’m sure I’ll revisit that in a while, but for now it needs to be put on hold. I ended up just pushing myself too hard and being tired every single day, and that’s not fun.

All in all, I’m hoping these next 40 days can really transform what my spiritual life looks like, and maybe it can for you too.

Think about it.

P.S. I tried to link to Mark Batterson’s blog, but apparently Safari 4 doesnt agree with WordPress. Here’s the URL to the post I mentioned. http://evotional.com/2009/02/what-are-you-fasting-for-lent.html

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

