Skip to content

New Life

March 1, 2009

There’s two things I’m learning today, and the last few days, that kinda go together.

The first is that I know I wanted to relax this Lent season and take a break from being online so much, and also from reading more than I can handle in terms of Christian/Theologically heavy books. Translated that means a little less Twitter, less blog-reading, less Facebook, less compulsive e-mail checking, etc. It’s been incredibly refreshing. I’m not pushing myself to stay “connected”. Really though, I’m more connected with my offline friends, the friends I have in the real world. I’m wayyyy less tired these last couple weeks than I was to start the semester off, and it’s AWESOME.

The second thing I’m learning is about the idea of “life“. As a sidenote, I’m doing an Old Testament one-year reading plan, while doing my own track for the New Testament, and I’m really starting to catch on that the themes are incredibly parallel between the two testament’s. Much more so then I ever before realized. Anywho, here’s what Leviticus 18:5 and 1 Peter 1:23 says, respectively:

“It you obey my laws and regulations, you will find life through them.”

“For you have been born again…This new life will last forever because it comes from the eternal, living word of God.”

See how the two go together yet?

New life, and life period, comes from God. From the Word of God. It wont come from other books, from blogs, from social media, from anything of this world. I believe that God is calling me to spend less time in other books and other people’s thoughts, and more time in His Word and His thoughts. He might be calling you to do the same also.

I want to spend more time in the Bible than I spend in blogs, books, e-mails, etc. I dont know if that will happen, but I definitely know I need a little bit of re-focusing. I haven’t read a book other than the Bible [and school books of course] for about a week and half, and it’s been so refreshing. Now, I’ll probably being reading again soon, and staying caught up on blogs again soon, but I’m hoping to do so with a little less intensity.

Dont get me wrong, I love being online, I love reading, I love all that peripheral stuff. But if it comes at the expense of less time with God and with real people, then maybe it’s an idol in your life. I realize those are strong words, but if they’re coming before God, then it’s true. I do it all the time, so dont feel like you’re the only one.

Spend a little more time with God this week and a little less time with your computer.

Think about it.

P.S. Justin Wise wrote a somewhat similar post this week on his blog, Be Deviant.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

