Skip to content

A Spirit-Filled Life.

March 29, 2009

It has been 23 days since I last blogged. I apologize. Between mid-terms, Spring Break, and a couple ministry projects, I have been swamped. Now though my life is little bit more calm. For now. I know that will change come finals week, but I’m good to go at this moment.

God seems to teach me by blasting me with the same theme in everything I do for like two weeks straight. Everything I have been reading in the Bible, in other books, listening to… It is all leading to this same thought. I need to live a more spirit-filled and spirit-led life.

The Truth that Jesus Christ is in me is starting to click in my head. That has to be the most unique thing about Christianity. The belief that separates us from other religions. Galatians 2:20 says, “Christ lives in me.” Isn’t that kinda weird? From an outside perspective that makes no sense whatsoever. And I gotta be honest, it makes no sense to me either. But, it’s in the Bible, and therefor I believe it.

We are given the Holy Spirit when we accept Jesus as Lord and Savior. God literally resides in us! That’s CRAZY! It means that God is actually with us everywhere we go and is with us during everything we do. Does that fact change how you see your life? Does it change the things that you do? It is starting to with me. We are never actually alone. When we’re alone, God is still with us.

The Holy Spirit is often called Counselor in the New Testament. He (not “it”) is a guide in our lives. A way for us to live Christ-like lives. God calls us to a ridiculous standard of holiness, that on our own and in our human bodies really is impossible. I am beginning to realize however that with GOD IN US we can do anything and everything. I’m convinced of it.

“I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.” John 14:12

Yes, you read that right. Jesus says we will do greater things that what He did. I can’t quite wrap my mind around that. How could we possibly do that? Wait, now I know how… Jesus Christ lives in us. I’m not there yet. I’m not even close to there. But I’m starting to understand.

Think about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

