Skip to content

Theology 101

June 17, 2009

I’m gonna start a new series. As you can see by the title, I’m naming it Theology 101.

I think a lot of Christians aren’t entirely sure what they believe in. We live in a culture where everything is just fed to us and we don’t feel a need to independently search out our thoughts and foundations. We end up just leaning on the people around us to know the right things.

I love theology. I love learning about it and reading about it and asking quesitons about it. It only becomes confusing because lots of academic people use huge words and complicated charts and graphs when talking about God. I find myself in an in between world. I’m minoring in religious studies, so I know a fair amount of those fancy words and charts. I also have no desire though to consider myself a true theologian who spends all of his time studying and writing articles. I want to be somewhere in the middle.

Having said that, there are a few things that I believe are fundamental to Christian belief and thought. There are often differing viewpoints on those beliefs and thoughts, and I’ll do my best to present multiple sides. The idea behind this series is to make theology accessible to everyone, and I’m very confident that can be done.

Are there particular questions or topics you would like to see discussed?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 10:55 pm

    http://www.ccel.org/ccel/henry/mhc5.i_1.viii.html

    Matthew Henry’s Commentary. It’s old school. But interesting nonetheless…

Leave a Reply

