Skip to content

100 Books in 100 Months

November 29, 2012

Every year I have some type of reading goal. In the past, it’s just been a number — usually 50. I’ve hit that goal every year. So, I’m looking for something a little different. Reading is such a part of my daily life that it’s not worth just having a numeric goal. I’m going to read a lot of books. That’s just how I am.

In the past few months I’ve been doing some work with Art of Manliness. In doing so, I’ve stumbled across some pretty hefty “manly” resources, including 100 Must-Read Books: The Essential Man’s Library. And a light bulb went off.

100 books in 100 months. It just came to me just like that. And I decided, without much thought, that I would embark on this eight-year journey. The list isn’t perfect. It’s obviously a bit man-centric, and certainly not definitive in the canon of literature. However, no list is perfect. So why not start here?

I decided to do just one book a month for the sake of my own sanity. I still want to read other books, and I know many of those listed are either long, dense, or some terrifying combination of both. There are old classics (Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey), “new” classics (Grapes of Wrath, All Quiet on the Western Front), and modern classics (Into Thin Air, Theodore Rex). It’s a mixture of fiction, poetry, how-to, biography, and history. There are some I’m excited about (Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance) and some I’m not so excited about (Ulysses).

Anyways, I’m digging in for the long haul starting Jan 1, 2013. I’ll update the progress of this journey here on the blog. Not sure where I’ll start, but I’ll be sure to let you know.

Some interesting numbers:

  • Age I will be upon completion: 33 (weird)
  • Books by John Steinbeck: 4 (the most for any single author)
  • Number I’ve already read: 8 (I plan on re-reading most of them, actually)
  • Earliest publication date: ~700 BC (Iliad and Odyssey)
  • Most recent publication date: 2006 (The Dangerous Book for Boys)
  • Authors featured more than once: 10

In the words of my friend Rob, when I told him about the project, “That sounds awesome and terrible at the same time.”

-JA

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2012 2:24 pm

    Sounds interesting, I have been contemplating what book journey I should set for myself for next year God spare.

  2. November 29, 2012 2:45 pm

    Nice! Super cray that you will be 33 at the end of this project. Looking forward to following your posts, you bibliophile, you.

  3. jeremyfritz permalink*
    November 29, 2012 4:53 pm

    It certainly should be interesting! I’ve been wanting to read more “classics”, but haven’t had a system of actually doing so until now. Thanks for the comment!

    -Jeremy

  4. jeremyfritz permalink*
    November 29, 2012 4:55 pm

    Yes. Cray cray indeed. 🙂 A couple of them would be cool for Joe-Joe (as well as the yet unborn beanpod), as there’s like Boy Scout Handbook and few other similar ones. I’ll let ya know when I run across those. Thanks for the comment, dood.

    -Jer

  5. November 29, 2012 5:08 pm

    Oh I have been ‘classic crazy’ for the past many weeks. I am on to Dickens, I seriously want to dent his collection. (urmm, meaning read all his novels :D)

Leave a Reply

